On November 10, 1969.


On November 10, 1969, “Columbia” label released “Ballad of Easy Rider”, the eighth Byrds album. It was recorded June – August, 1969, at “Columbia Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Terry Melcher. The album got it name after the song “Ballad of Easy Rider”, ( by Roger McGuinn with help from Bob Dylan), as the theme song for the 1969 film, Easy Rider.


  • Roger McGuinn – vocals, guitar
  • Clarence White – vocals, lead guitar
  • John York – vocals, electric bass
  • Gene Parsons – vocals, drums, guitar, banjo
  • Byron Berline- fiddle
  • Glen D. Hardin- organ
  • Terry Melcher- string section, backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Ballad of Easy Rider – Roger McGuinn
  2. Fido – John York
  3. Oil in My Lamp – traditional, arranged Gene Parsons, Clarence White
  4. Tulsa County Blue – Pamela Polland
  5. Jack Tarr the Sailor – traditional, arranged Roger McGuinn
  6. Jesus Is Just Alright – Arthur Reynolds
  7. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue – Bob Dylan
  8. There Must Be Someone – Vern Gosdin, Cathy Gosdin, Rex Gosdin
  9. Gunga Din – Gene Parsons
  10. Deportee (Plane Wreck at Los Gatos) – Woody Guthrie, Martin Hoffman
  11. Armstrong, Aldrin and Collins – Zeke Manners, Scott Seely



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.