On October 26, 1987.


On October 26, 1987, “Polydor” label released “Mainstream”, the third and final Lloyd Cole and the Commotions album. It was recorded in 1987, and was produced by Ian Stanley.


  • Lloyd Cole – vocals, guitar
  • Neil Clark– guitar
  • Tommy Willis – lap steel guitar
  • Blair Cowan– keyboards
  • Fraser Speirs– harmonica
  • Tracey Thorn– vocals
  • Lawrence Donegan– bass
  • Stephen Irvine – drums
  • Jon Hassell– trumpet
  • Nicky Holland – backing vocals, string arrangements
  • Tony Jackson – backing vocals
  • John Sloman– backing vocals
  • Femi Jiya – engineer
  • Alastair Thain – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Clark, Lloyd Cole, Blair Cowan, Lawrence Donegan and Stephen irvine , except where noted.

  1. My Bag
  2. From the Hip – Neil Clark, Cole, Blair Cowan, Lawrence Donegan, Stephen Irvine, McKillop
  3. 29
  4. Mainstream
  5. Jennifer She Said
  6. Malcontent
  7. Sean Penn Blues
  8. Big Snake – lyrics Lloyd Cole, music Ian Stanley
  9. Hey Rusty
  10. These Days

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.