On October 2, 1989.


On October 2, 1989, “Reprise” label released “Freedom” the eighteenth Neil Young studio album. It was recorded July 25, 1988–July 10, 1989, at “The Barn-Redwood Digital” in  Woodside, California; :Jones Beach” and “The Hit Factory” in  New York City, and was produced by Neil Young and Nico Botas.


  • Neil Young– vocals; acoustic and electric guitar, harmonica, piano, mixing
  • Linda Ronstadt– vocals
  • Frank “Poncho” Sampedro – vocals, guitar, mandolin, keyboards
  • Ben Keith – vocals, pedal steel guitar, keyboards, alto saxophone
  • Tony Marsico– bass
  • Rick “The Bass Player” Rosas– bass
  • Chad Cromwell – drums
  • Steve Lawrence –tenor saxophone
  • Larry Cragg –baritone saxophone
  • John Fumo– trumpet
  • Tom Bray – trumpet
  • Claude Cailliet –trombone
  • Dave Hewitt – recording engineer
  • Niko Bolas – recording, mixing
  • Tim Mulligan – recording, digital engineer
  • Harry Sitam – senior technical engineer
  • Dave Collins – digital editor
  • Doug Sax – digital mastering engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Young, except where noted.

  1. Rockin’ in the Free World (live acoustic)
  2. Crime in the City (Sixty to Zero Part I)
  3. Don’t Cry
  4. Hangin’ on a Limb
  5. Eldorado
  6. The Ways of Love
  7. Someday
  8. On Broadway – Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil, Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  9. Wrecking Ball
  10. No More
  11. Too Far Gone
  12. Rockin’ in the Free World (electric)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.