On September 11, 2001.


On September 11, 2001, “Epic” label released “Rockin’ the Suburbs”, the debut Ben Folds studio album. It was recorded in 2001, and was produced by Ben Folds and Ben Grosse.


  • Ben Folds – vocals, piano, keyboards, guitars, bass guitar, drums, package design
  • Richard Fortus – guitar
  • Larry Corbett –cello
  • DJ Swamp – beats
  • Vincent Palmeri – vocals
  • John McCrea– vocals
  • Frally Hynes – vocals
  • Andrew R. Wallace, Ben Grosse, Cameron Webb, John Vitale – programming
  • Blumpy – programming, engineer assistant
  • John Mark Painter – arranger
  • John Mark Painter – conductor
  • Ben Grosse – recording, mixing. engineer assistant
  • Andrew R. Wallace – engineer, recording
  • Cameron Webb – engineer assistant
  • Ted Jensen – mastering
  • Chuck Bailey, Rick Behrens, Aaron Lepley, Ulysses Noriega, Justin Pynes – assistant

Track listing:

All tracks by Ben Folds, except where noted.

  1. Annie Waits
  2. Zak and Sara
  3. Still Fighting It
  4. Gone
  5. Fred Jones Part 2
  6. The Ascent of Stan
  7. Losing Lisa
  8. Carrying Cathy
  9. Not the Same
  10. Rockin’ the Suburbs
  11. Fired
  12. The Luckiest

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.