On August 10, 1981.


On August 10, 1981, “Columbia” label released “Shot of Love”, the twenty-first Bob Dylan studio album. It was recorded March – May 1981, and was produced by Chuck Plotkin, Bob Dylan and Bumps Blackwell.


  • Bob Dylan – lead vocal, guitar,  harmonica,  percussion,  piano,  keyboards
  • Steve Ripley– guitar
  • Ronnie Wood– guitar
  • Danny “Kootch” Kortchmar– guitar, electric guitar
  • Fred Tackett– guitar
  • Benmont Tench– keyboards
  • Carl Pickhardt – piano
  • William D. “Smitty” Smith– organ
  • Tim Drummond– bass guitar
  • Donald “Duck” Dunn– bass guitar
  • Ringo Starr– drums, tom-tom
  • Jim Keltner– drums
  • Carolyn Dennis– vocals, backing vocals
  • Madelyn Quebec – vocals, backing vocals
  • Clydie King– vocals, backing vocals
  • Regina McCrory – vocals, backing vocals
  • Monalisa Young – vocal
  • Steve Douglas– saxophone
  • Toby Scott– engineer
  • Dana Bisbee – engineer assistant
  • Vic Anesini –  CD mastering
  • Ken Perry – LP mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Dylan.

  1. Shot of Love
  2. Heart of Mine
  3. Property of Jesus
  4. Lenny Bruce
  5. Watered Down Love
  6. The Groom’s Still Waiting at the Altar
  7. Dead Man, Dead Man
  8. In the Summertime
  9. Trouble
  10. Every Grain of Sand

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.