On July 5, 1968.


On July 5, 1968, “Regal Zonophone” label released “My People Were Fair and Had Sky in Their Hair… But Now They’re Content to Wear Stars on Their Brows”, the Tyrannosaurus Rex debut album. It was recorded 1967 – 1968 at “Advision Studios” in London, and was produced by Tony Visconti.


  • Marc Bolan – vocals, guitars
  • Steve Peregrin Took – drums, pixiphone, percussion, backing vocals
  • John Peel – read a children’s story written by Marc Bolan

Track listing:

All tracks by Marc Bolan.

  1. Hot Rod Mama
  2. Scenescof
  3. Child Star
  4. Strange Orchestras
  5. Chateau in Virginia Waters
  6. Dwarfish Trumpet Blues
  7. Mustang Ford
  8. Afghan Woman
  9. Knight
  10. Graceful Fat Sheba
  11. Wielder of Words
  12. Frowning Atahuallpa (My Inca Love)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.