On July 5, 1972.


On July 5, 1972, “Bizarre / Reprise” labels released “Waka/Jawaka”, the fourth Frank Zappa album. It was recorded April – May 1972, at “Paramount Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Frank Zappa.


  • Frank Zappa– vocals, guitars, percussion, electric bed springs, mastering
  • Jeff Simmons – vocals, Hawaiian guitar
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow– pedal steel guitar solo
  • Tony Duran – vocals, slide guitat
  • George Duke– ring – modulated and echoplexed electric piano, tack piano
  • Kris Peterson – vocals
  • Janet Ferguson – vocals
  • Don Preston– piano, Minimoog
  • Erroneous (Alex Dmochowski) – vocals, electric bass, fuzzbass
  • Aynsley Dunbar– drums, washboard, tambourine
  • Sal Marquez – vocals, trumpets, chimes, flugelhorn
  • Mike Altschul – baritone saxophone, piccolo, bass flute, bass clarinet, tenor sax
  • Joel Peskin – tenor sax
  • Bill Byers – trombone, baritone horn
  • Ken Shroyer – trombone, baritone horn
  • Marshall Brevitz, Kerry McNabb – engineer
  • Marshall Brevitz – supervisor
  • Sal Marquez – concept
  • Cal Schenkel – design, packanging
  • Marvin Mattelson – illustrations
  • Philip Schartz – back cover, photography
  • Ferenc Dobronyi – re-packaging

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa.

  1. Big Swifty
  2. Your Mouth
  3. It Just Might Be a One-Shot Deal
  4. Waka / Jawaka

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.