On June 16, 1986.

The Smiths - The Queen-is-dead

On June 16, 1986, “Rough Trade” label released “The Queen Is Dead”, the third Smiths studio album. It was recorded in 1985, and was produced by Morrissey and Johnny Marr. The album cover was designed by Morrissey and features Alain Delon photograph from the 1964 film “L’Insoumis”. “The Queen Is Dead” has received unanimous critical acclaim worldwide. “NME” magazine voted “The Queen Is Dead” the “Greatest Album of All Time’. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 216 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Morrissey– vocals, art concept
  • Johnny Marr– guitars, harmonium, synthesised string instruments and flute arrangements
  • Andy Rourke– bass
  • Mike Joyce– drums
  • Stephen Street – engineer
  • John Porter – engineer
  • Caryn Gough – layout
  • Steve Wright – photography

Track listing

All tracks by Morrissey and Johnny Marr, except “Take Me Back to Dear Old Blighty” (used as an intro to “The Queen Is Dead”), by A.J. Mills, Fred Godfrey and Bennett Scott.

  1. The Queen Is Dead
  2. Frankly, Mr.Shankly
  3. I Know It’s Over
  4. Never Had No One Ever
  5. Cemetery Gates
  6. Bigmouth Strikes Again
  7. The Boy With The Thorn in His Side
  8. Vicar in a Tutu
  9. There is a Light That Never Goes Out
  10. Some Girls are Bigger Than Others

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.