On June 8, 1993.

Exile Too Long

On June 8, 1993, “Polydor” label released “Too Long in Exile”, the twenty-second Van Morrison studio album. It was recorded at “The Wool Hall Studios” in Bath and “The Record Plant” in Sausalito, California, and was produced by Van Morrison.


  • Van Morrison– vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, alto saxophone, harmonica
  • John Lee Hooker– vocals, electric guitar
  • Ronnie Johnson – electric guitar
  • Georgie Fame– Hammond organ, backing vocals
  • Howard Francis – Hammond organ,piano
  • John Allair – Hammond organ
  • Teena Lyle – Hammond organ, percussion, vibraphone, backing vocals
  • Jonn Savannah – Hammond organ, backing vocals
  • Richard Cousins – bass guitar
  • Geoff Dunn– drums
  • Paul Robinson – drums
  • Kevin Hayes – drums
  • Nicky Scott –bass guitar
  • Candy Dulfer– alto saxophone
  • Kate St John– tenor saxophone, cor anglais

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison except where noted.

  1. Too Long in Exile
  2. Big Time Operators
  3. Lonely Avenue/You Give Me Nothing but the Blues – Doc Pomus, Van Morrison
  4. Ball & Chain
  5. In the Forest
  6. Till We Get the Healing Done
  7. Gloria
  8. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl – Sonny Boy Williamson
  9. Wasted Years
  10. The Lonesome Road – Nathaniel Shilkret, Gene Austin
  11. Moody’s Mood for Love – James Moody, Dorothy Fields, Jimmy McHugh
  12. Close Enough for Jazz
  13. Before the World Was Made – lyrics by William Butler Yeats, adapted by Van Morrison, music by Kenny Craddock
  14. I’ll Take Care of You – Brook Benton
  15. Instrumental / Tell Me What You Want

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.