On June 5, 1970.

Barclay James Harvest

On June 5, 1970, “Harvest” label released the debut, self-titled Barclay James Harvest album. It was recorded November 1969 – January 1970, at “EMI Studios”, and “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Norman Smith.


  • John Lees– vocals, guitars, recorder
  • Jim Litherland – guitar
  • Stuart “Woolly” Wolstenholme– vocals, mellotron, keyboards, guitar, harmonica
  • Les Holroyd– vocals, bass guitar, guitar, cello
  • Mel Pritchard– drums, percussion
  • The Barclay James Harvest Symphony Orchestra
  • Gavin Wright – orchestra leader
  • Robert Godfrey – conductor, musical director
  • Phil McDonald – engineer
  • Ian Latimer – design
  • Richard Dubkley – photography

Track listing:

All the tracks by les Holroyd, John Lees, Mel Pritchard and Stuart “Woolly” Wolstenholme.

  1. Taking Some Time On
  2. Mother Dear
  3. The Sun Will Never Shine
  4. When the World Was Woken
  5. Good Love Child
  6. The Iron Maiden
  7. Dark Now My Sky


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.