On June 3, 1985.


On June 3, 1985, “Mute” label released “The Firstborn Is Dead”, the second Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds studio album. It was recorded November – December 1984, at “Hansa Studios, in Berlin,and was produced by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds and Flood. The album cover photography is by Jutta Heinglein.


  • Nick Cave– lead vocals, harmonica
  • Blixa Bargeld- guitar, backing vocals, slide guitar, piano
  • Barry Adamson- bass, backing vocals, guitar, organ, drums
  • Mick Harvey– drums, backing vocals, guitar, organ, piano, bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick Cave, except where noted.

  1. Tupelo – Barry Adamson, Mick Harvey
  2. Say Goodbye to the Little Girl Tree – Mick Harvey
  3. Train Long-Suffering –  Nick Cave
  4. Black Crow King – Blixa Bargeld, NickCave
  5. Knockin’ on Joe –  Nick Cave
  6. Wanted Man – Bob Dylan, Johnny Cash
  7. Blind Lemon Jefferson – Barry Adamson, Blixa Bargeld, Mick Harvey, Nick Cave

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.