On June 2, 1978.

darkness on the edge

On June 2, 1978, “Columbia” label released “Darkness on the Edge of Town”, the fourth Bruce Springsteen studio album. It was recorded October 1977 – March 1978, at “Record Plant Studios” in New York, and was produced by Bruce Springsteen, Jon Landau, and Steven Van Zandt.

In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Darkness on the Edge of Town” at number 151 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”. The album was certified 3 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA’.


  • Bruce Springsteen– lead vocals, lead guitar, harmonica
  • Roy Bittan– piano, backing vocals
  • Clarence Clemons– saxophone, backing vocals
  • Danny Federici– organ, glockenspiel
  • Garry Tallent– bass guitar
  • Steve Van Zandt– rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Max Weinberg– drums
  • Jimmy Iovine– engineer, mixing
  • Thom Panunzio– assistant engineer
  • Chuck Plotkin– mixing
  • Mike Reese– mastering
  • Frank Stefanko– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Bruce Springsteen.

  1. Badlands
  2. Adam Raised a Cain
  3. Something in the Night
  4. Candy’s Room
  5. Racing in the Street
  6. The Promised Land
  7. Factory
  8. Streets of Fire
  9. Prove it All Night
  10. Darkness on the Edge of Town

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.