On May 20, 1981.

The Fox

On May 20, 1981, “Rocket” label released “The Fox”, the fifteenth Elton John album. It was recorded August 1979; January–June 1980, at “Super Bear Studios” in Nice, France and “Sunset Sound” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Chris Thomas, Elton John and Clive Franks.


  • Elton John – lead and backing vocals, piano
  • James Newton Howard: synthesizers, vocoder, Fender Rhodes, organ, synthesizer programming, stringarrangement, conductor
  • London Symphony Orchestra: strings
  • Mickey Raphael: harmonica
  • Stephanie Spruill: tambourine, backing vocals
  • Richie Zito: guitars
  • Reggie McBride: bass guitar
  • Dee Murray: bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Jeff Porcaro: drums
  • Alvin Taylor: drums
  • Nigel Olsson: drums
  • Roger Linn: drum synthesizer programming
  • Victor Feldman: percussion
  • Jim Horn: alto saxophone
  • Colette Bertrand: French girl
  • Bill Champlin: backing vocals, tambourine
  • James Cleveland: spoken voice, choir director
  • Cornerstone Baptist Church Choir: choir
  • Clarence Ford: backing vocals
  • Roy Galloway: backing vocals
  • James Gilstrap: backing vocals
  • Varl Carwell: backing vocals
  • Chuck Cissel: backing vocals
  • Ronald Baker: backing vocals
  • Max Gronenthal: backing vocals
  • John Lehman: backing vocals
  • Tamara Matoesian now Tamara Champlin: backing vocals
  • Gary Osborne: backing vocals
  • Oren Waters: backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Breaking Down Barriers – Elton John, Gary Osborne
  2. Heart in the Right Place – Elton John, Gary Osborne
  3. Just Like Belgium – Elton John, Bernie Taupin
  4. Nobody Wins – Jean-Paul Dreau, Gary Osborne
  5. Fascist Faces – Elton John, Bernie Taupin
  6. Carla/Etude – Elton John
  7. Fanfare – Elton John, James Newton Howard
  8. Chloe – Elton John, Gary Osborne
  9. Heels of the Wind – Elton John, Bernie Taupin
  10. Elton’s Song – Elton John, Tom Robinson
  11. The Fox – Elton John, Bernie Taupin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.