On April 30, 1984.


On April 30, 1984, “Harvest” label released “The Pros and Cons of Hitch Hiking”, the debut Roger Waters album. It was recorded February – December 1983, and was produced by Roger Waters and Michael Kamen.


  • Roger Waters– lead vocals, bass guitar, rhythm guitar, tape effects, design
  • Eric Clapton– lead guitar, backing vocals, Roland guitar synthesizer
  • Michael Kamen– piano
  • The National Philharmonic Orchestra – conducted and arranged by Michael Kamen
  • Andy Bown– Hammond organ, 12-string guitar
  • Andy Newmark– drums, percussion
  • Ray Cooper– percussion
  • David Sanborn– saxophone
  • Raphael Ravenscroft, Kevin Flanagan, Vic Sullivan – horns
  • Madeline Bell, Katie Kissoon, Doreen Chanter– backing vocals
  • Michael King – SFX boffin
  • Zuccarelli Labs – holophonics
  • The Artful Dodgers – co-ordination
  • Andy Jackson – recording
  • Laura Boisan – assistant engineer
  • Doug Sax, Mike Rees – mastering
  • Gerald Scarfe– design
  • Alex Henderson – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Roger Waters.

  1. 4:30 am (Apparently They Were Travelling Abroad)
  2. 4:33 am (Running Shoes)
  3. 4:37 am (Arabs with Knives and West German Skies)
  4. 4:39 am (For the First Time Today, Part 2)
  5. 4:41 am (Sexual Revolution)
  6. 4:47 am (The Remains of Our Love)
  7. 4:50 am (Go Fishing)
  8. 4:56 am (For the First Time Today, Part 1)
  9. 4:58 am (Dunroamin, Duncarin, Dunlivin)
  10. 5:01 am (The Pros and Cons of Hitch Hiking, Part 10)
  11. 5:06 am (Every Stranger’s Eyes)
  12. 5:11 am (The Moment of Clarity)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.