On April 30, 1984.


On April 30, 1984, “Fiction Records” label released “The Top”, the fifth Cure studio album. It was recorded 1983–1984, at “Genetic”, “Garden Studios” and “Trident Studios”, and was produced by David M. Allen, Chris Parry and Robert Smith.


  • Robert Smith- vocals, guitar, bass guitar, keyboards, organ, violin, harmonica, recorder, instrumentation
  • Lol Tolhurst- keyboards, instrumentation
  • Porl Thompson- saxophone, keyboards, guitar
  • Phil Thornalley- bass guitar
  • Andy Anderson- drums, percussion
  • Dave Allen, Howard Grey – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Smith, except where noted.

  1. Shake Dog Shake
  2. Bird Mad Girl – Robert Smith, Lol Tolhurst
  3. Wailing Wall
  4. Give Me It
  5. Dressing Up
  6. The Caterpillar – Robert Smith, Lol Tolhurst
  7. Piggy in the Mirror – Robert Smith, Lol Tolhurst
  8. The Empty World
  9. Bananafishbones
  10. The Top

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.