On March 25, 1972.


On March 25, 1972, “Purple Records” label released “Machine Head”, the sixth Deep Purple album .It was recorded in December 1971 in Montreux, and was produced by Ritchie Blackmore, Jon Lord, ian Paice, Ian Gillan and Roger Glover.  In 1989, “Kerrang!” magazine ranked the album at number 35 on its list of “100 Greatest Heavy Metal Albums of All Time”.


  • Ritchie Blackmore– guitar
  • Jon Lord– keyboards
  • Ian Gillan– vocals, harmonica
  • Roger Glover– bass, design
  • Ian Paice– drums, percussion
  • Martin Birch– engineer, mixing
  • Jeremy (Bear) Gee – engineer assistant
  • Nick Watterton – technician
  • John Coletta – design
  • Shephard Sherbell – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord and Ian Paice.

  1. Highway Star
  2. Maybe I’m a Leo
  3. Pictures of Home
  4. Never Before
  5. Smoke on the Water
  6. Lazy
  7. Space Truckin’

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.