On March 25, 1970.


On March 25, 1970, “Columbia” label released “Vintage Violence”, the debut John Cale studio album. It was recorded in 1969, and was produced by John Cale and Lewis Merenstein.


  • John Cale – vocals, bass guitar, guitar, keyboards
  • Ernire Coralla – guitar
  • Garland Jeffreys– guitar, backing vocals
  • Stan Szelest – piano
  • Harvey Brooks– bass guitar
  • Sanford Konikoff – drums
  • John McClure – executive producer

Track listing:

All tracks by John Cale, except where noted.

  1. Hello, There
  2. Gideon’s Bible
  3. Adelaide
  4. Big White Cloud
  5. Cleo
  6. Please
  7. Charlemagne
  8. Bring it on Up
  9. Amsterdam
  10. Ghost Story
  11. Fairweather Friend – Garland Jeffreys

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.