On February 13, 1970.


On February 13, 1970, “Vertigo” label released the debut self-titled Black Sabbath studio album. It was recorded on October 16, at “Regent Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by Rodger Bain. In 1989, magazine “Kerrang!” ranked “Black Sabbath” at number 31 on its list of “100 Greatest Heavy Metal Albums of All Time”.In 2000, magazine “Q” included “Black Sabbath” in its list of the “Best Metal Albums of All Time”. In 2005, magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked the album at number 238 on its  list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”, and at number 44 in its list of the “100 Best Debut Albums of All Time”.


  • Ozzy Osbourne– vocals, harmonica
  • Tony Iommi– guitar
  • Geezer Butler– bass
  • Bill Ward– drums
  • Marcus Keef – graphic design, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, Bill Ward and Ozzy Osbourne, except where noted.

  1. Black Sabbath
  2. The Wizard
  3. Behind the Wall of Sleep
  4. I.B.
  5. Evil Woman – Larry Weigand, Dick Weigand, David Wagner
  6. Sleeping Village
  7. Warning – Aynsley Dunbar, Alex Dmochowski, Victor Hickling , John Moorshead



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.