On January 26, 1970.


On January 26, 1970, “Columbia” label released “Bridge over Troubled Water”, the fifth and final Simon & Garfunkel studio album. It was recorded in November 1969, and was produced by Paul Simon, Art Garfunkel and Roy Halee. Two album songs, “Bridge over Troubled Water” and “The Boxer”, are listed on Rolling Stone’s “500 Greatest Songs of All Time”; the album is ranked at number 51 on “Rolling Stone’s”  list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time” and have sold more than 25 million copies worldwide.


  • Paul Simon– lead vocals, acoustic guitar, percussion
  • Art Garfunkel– lead vocals, percussion
  • Los Incas– Peruvian instruments
  • Joe Osborn– bass guitar
  • Larry Knechtel– piano, Hammond organ, electric piano
  • Fred Carter, Jr.– acoustic and electric guitars
  • Peter Drake– dobro, pedal steel guitar
  • Hal Blaine– drums, percussion
  • Jimmie Haskelland, Ernie Freeman – strings
  • Jon Faddis,Randy Brecker, Lew Soloff, Alan Rubin – brass
  • Buddy Harman– percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Simon except where noted.

  1. Bridge over Troubled Water
  2. El Condor Pasa (If I Could) – Daniel Alomía Robles, arranged by Jorge Milchberg, English lyrics by Paul Simon
  3. Cecilia
  4. Keep the Customer Satisfied
  5. So Long, Frank Lloyd Wright
  6. The Boxer
  7. Baby Driver
  8. The Only Living Boy in New York
  9. Why Don’t You Write Me
  10. Bye Bye Love – Felice Bryant, Boudleaux Bryant
  11. Song for the Asking



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.