On January 23, 1973.

The Six Wives

On January 23, 1973, “A&M” label released “The Six Wives of Henry VIII”, the debut Rick Wakeman studio album. It was recorded February – October 1972, at “Morgan” and “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Rick Wakeman.


  • Rick Wakeman – Minimoogsynthesiser, mellotron,  frequency counter, grand piano, Hammond C-3 organ, electric piano, harpsichord, ARP synthesiser, church organ
  • Dave Lambert– guitar
  • Mike Egan, Steve Howe– guitar
  • Dave Cousins– electric banjo
  • Chas Cronk– bass guitar
  • Les Hurdle – bass guitar
  • Chris Squire– bass guitar
  • Dave Winter – bass guitar
  • Bill Bruford– drums
  • Barry de Souza – drums
  • Alan White– drums
  • Frank Ricotti– percussion
  • Ray Cooper– percussion
  • Laura Lee, Sylvia McNeill, Judy Powell – vocals
  • Barry St. John – vocals
  • Liza Strike – vocals
  • Michael Doud – art director
  • Ken Carroll – design
  • Bruce Rae – cover photography
  • Ruan O’Lochlainn – inside photography

Tracks listing:

All tracks by Wakeman.

  1. Catherine of Aragon
  2. Anne of Cleves
  3. Catherine Howard
  4. Jane Seymour
  5. Anne Boleyn – incorporates The Day Thou Gavest Lord Hath Ended written by E. J. Hopkins, arr. Rick Wakeman.
  6. Catherine Parr



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.