On January 22, 2008.


On January 22, 2008, “Columbia” label released “Oracular Spectacular”, the first MGMT major label studio album. It was recorded March – April 2007, and was produced by Dave Fridmann. In 2012, magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked  “Oracular Spectacular” at number 494 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Andrew Vanwyngarden – lead vocals, lead and rhythm guitars, keyboards, bass, drums, percussion
  • Ben Goldwasser– keyboards, synthesizers, sampling, rhythm guitar, percussion, backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser except where noted.

  1. Time to Pretend
  2. Weekend Wars
  3. The Youth
  4. Electric Feel – VanWyngarden, Ben Goldwasser, Will Berman
  5. Kids
  6. 4th Dimensional Transition
  7. Pieces of What
  8. Of Moons, Birds & Monsters
  9. The Handshake
  10. Future Reflections

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.