On December 14, 1979.


On December 14, 1979, “CBS” label released “London Calling”, the third Clash studio album.  It was recorded August – November 1979, at the “Wessex Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by Guy Stevens and Mick Jones. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “London Calling” at number 8 on it’s list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The album sold in more than 5 million copies worldwide and was certified Platinum in the US by “RIAA”,  and is regarded as one of the most important albums in the history of modern music.


  • Joe Strummer– lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar, piano
  • Mick Jones – lead and backing vocals, lead guitar, piano, harmonica
  • Paul Simonon – lead and backing vocals, bass guitar,
  • Topper Headon– drums, percussion
  • Mickey Gallagher– organ
  • The Irish Horns – brass

Track listing

All tracks by Joe Strummer and Mick Jones, except where noted.

  1. London calling
  2. Brand New Cadillac – Vince Taylor
  3. Jimmy Jazz
  4. Hateful
  5. Rudie Can’t Fall
  6. Spanish Bombs
  7. The Right Profile
  8. Lost in the Supermarket
  9. Clampdown
  10. The Guns of Brixton – Paul Simonon
  11. Wrong’em Boyo – Clive Alphonso
  12. Death of Glory
  13. Koka Kola
  14. The Card Cheat
  15. Lover’s Rock
  16. Four Horseman
  17. I’m Not Down
  18. Revolution Rock – Jackie Edwards, Danny Ray
  19. Train in Vain

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.