On November 21, 1980.


On November 21, 1980, “MCA” label released “Gaucho”, the seventh Steely Dan studio album.  It was recorded 1978 -1980, at the “Sigma Sound of Philadelphia” and “Village Records” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Gary Katz.


  • Donald Fagen – lead vocals, synthesizer, electric piano, organ, rhythm arrangements
  • Walter Becker – bass, guitar, guitar solo, rhythm arrangements
  • Steve Khan- guitar, lead guitar
  • Mark Knopfler, Larry Carlton – lead guitar
  • Hugh McCracken, Hiram Bullock, Rick Derringer – guitar
  • Rob Mounsey- piano, synthesizer, horn arrangement
  • Don Grolnick- electric piano, clavinet
  • Pat Rebillot, Joe Sample  – electric piano
  • Chuck Rainey, Anthony Jackson  – bass
  • Steve Gadd – drums, percussion
  • Bernard Pretty Purdie,  Rick Marotta, Jeff Porcaro – drums
  • Crusher Bennett, Victor Feldman, Ralph McDonald, Nicholas Marrero – percussion
  • Tom Scott- alto saxophone and clarinet; tenor saxophone, lyricon, horn arrangement
  • Michael Brecker, Dave Tofani – tenor saxophone
  • David Sanborn- alto saxophone
  • Ronnie Cuber- baritone saxophone
  • Randy Brecker- trumpet, flugelhorn
  • George Marge, Walter Kane – clarinet
  • Wayne Andre- trombone
  • Michael McDonald, Patti Austin, Valerie Simpson, Frank Floyd, Diva Gray, Gordon Grody, Lani Groves, Leslie Miller, *Zachary Sanders, Toni Wine – backing vocals
  • Paul Griffin, Don Grolnick, Rob Mounsey – rhythm arrangements
  • Rob Mounsey, Tom Scott – horn arrangements
  • Vartan- art direction
  • Suzanne Walsh – art direction, design
  • Michael Diehl – design
  • John Tom Cohoe – design assistant
  • Rene Burri – photography
  • Ryan Null – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Michael Becker and Donald Fagen, except where noted

  1. Babylon Sisters
  2. Hey Nineteen
  3. Glamour Profession
  4. Gaucho – Michael Becker, Donald Fagen, Jarrett
  5. Time Out of Mind
  6. My Rival
  7. Third World Man

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.