On October 19, 1979.

Tom Petty and the heartbreakers Damn The Torpedoes HIGH RESOLUTION COVER ART

On October 19, 1979, “Backstreet Records” released “Damn the  Torpedoes”, the third Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers album.  It was recorded 1978 -1979, at the “Sound City” and “Van Nuys Cherokee Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Jimmy Iovine and Tom Petty. In 2003, The album was ranked at number 313 on “Rolling Stone’s” magazine list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Tom Petty – lead vocals, guitars, harmonica
  • Mike Campbell – guitars, slide guitar, keyboards, accordion, electric bass
  • Benmont Tench – vocals, piano, organ, harmonium
  • Ron Blair– electric bass
  • Stan Lynch– drums, vocals
  • Donald “Duck” Dunn– bass
  • Jim Keltner – percussion
  • Phil Jones – percussion

Track listing:

  1. Refugee – Tom Petty, Mike Campbell
  2. Here Comes My Girl – Tom Petty, Mike Campbell
  3. Even the Losers – Tom Petty
  4. Shadow of a Doubt – Tom Petty
  5. Century City – Tom Petty
  6. Don’t Do Me Like That – Tom Petty
  7. You Tell Me – Tom Petty
  8. What Are You Doin’ in My Life – Tom Petty
  9.  Louisiana Rain – Tom Petty

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.