On October 19, 1979.


On October 19, 1979, “Stiff” label released “One Step Beyond”, the debut Madness album. It was recorded in 1979, at “Eden” and “TW Studios” in London, and was produced by Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley.


  • Graham McPherson (Suggs) – lead vocals
  • Chris Foreman (Chrissy Boy) – guitars
  • Mike Barson (Monsieur Barso) – keyboards
  • Mark Bedford (Bedders) – bass
  • Dan Woodgate (Woody) – drums, percussion
  • Lee “Kix” Thompson– lead and backing vocals, saxophones
  • Cathal Smyth (Chas Smash) – lead and backing vocals, fancy footwork

Track listing:

  1. One Step Beyond– Campbell
  2. My Girl– Mike Barson
  3. Night Boat to Cairo– Mike Barson, Graham McPherson
  4. Believe Me – Mike Barson, Hasler
  5. Land of Hope and Glory – Chris Foreman, Lee Thompson
  6. The Prince – Lee Thompson
  7. Tarzan’s Nuts – Mike Barson
  8. In the Middle of the Night – Graham McPherson, Chris Foreman
  9. Bed & Breakfast Man – Mike Barson
  10. Razor Blade Alley – Lee Thompson
  11. Swan Lake– Tchaikovsky, Mike Barson
  12. Rockin’ in AB– Wurlitzer, Bazooka Joecover
  13. Mummy’s Boy – Mark Bedford
  14. Madness – Campbell
  15. Chipmunks Are Go! – Cathal Smyth, Brendan Smyth

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.