On October 17, 1980.


On October 17, 1980, “Columbia” label released “The River”, the fifth Bruce Springsteen studio album. It was recorded March 1979  – August 1980, at the “Power Station” in New York City, and was produced by Jon Landau, Bruce Springsteen and Steven Van Zandt.  “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “The River” at number 253 on its list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Bruce Springsteen– lead vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, 12-string electric guitar, piano, harmonica, percussion
  • Steven Van Zandt– rhythm electric guitar, acoustic guitar, lead guitar, harmony vocals, backing vocals
  • Roy Bittan– piano, organ, backing vocals
  • Danny Federici– organ, glockenspiel
  • Clarence Clemons– tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, percussion, backing vocals
  • Garry Tallent– bass
  • Max Weinberg– drums, percussion
  • Flo & Eddie– vocals
  • Howard Kaylan– harmony vocals
  • Mark Volman– harmony vocals

All tracks by Bruce Springsteen.

  1. The Ties That Bind
  2. Sherry Darling
  3. Jackson’s Cage
  4. Two Hearts
  5. Independence Day
  6. Hungry Heart
  7. Out in the Street
  8. Crush on You
  9. You Can Look Back
  10. I Wanna Marry You
  11. The River
  12. Point Blank
  13. Cadillac Ranch
  14. I’m Rocker
  15. Fade Away
  16. Stolen Car
  17. Ramrod
  18. The Price You Pay
  19. Drive All Night
  20. Wreck on the Highway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.