On October 11, 1972.

On the corner

On October 10, 1972, “Columbia” label released “On the Corner”, studio album by Miles Davis. It was recorded on June 1, 6 and July 7, 1972, at the “Columbia Studio E”, in New York City, and was produced by Teo Macero.


  • Miles Davis– electric trumpet with wah-wah
  • Dave Liebman– soprano saxophone
  • Carlos Garnett– soprano and tenor saxophone
  • Chick Corea– electric piano
  • Herbie Hancock– electric piano, synthesizer
  • Harold I. Williams– organ, synthesizerBadal Roy,
  • David Creamer – electric guitar
  • John McLaughlin- electric guitar
  • Michael Henderson– electric bass with wah wah
  • Collin Walcott– electric sitar
  • Khalil Balakrishna – electric sitar
  • Bennie Maupin– bass clarinet
  • Badal Roy– tabla
  • Jack DeJohnette – drums
  • Billy Cobham– drums
  • Jabali Billy Hart– drums, bongos
  • James “Mtume” Foreman – percussion
  • Don Alias– percussion
  • Paul Buckmaster– cello, arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Miles Davis.

  1. On the Corner/New York Girl/Thinkin’ One Thing and Doin’ Another / Vote for Miles
  2. Black Satin
  3. One and One
  4. Hellen Butte / Mr. Freedom X

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.