On September 24, 1991.

Van Morrison

On September 24, 1991, “Polydor” label released “Hymns to the Silence” the twenty-first Van Morrison studio album.  His first studio double album was recorded in 1990 at “Wool Hall Studios” in Beckington, and at “Townhouse and Westside Studios”, in London, and was produced by Van Morrison.


  • Van Morrison – vocal, guitar, harmonica, alto saxophone
  • The Chieftains
  • Terry Disley- piano
  • Neil Drinkwater – accordion, piano, synthesizer
  • Georgie Fame- piano, Hammond organ, backing vocals
  • Eddie Friel – piano, Hammond organ, synthesizer
  • Derek Bell- synthesizer
  • Steve Pearce – bass
  • Nicky Scott – bass
  • Dave Early- drums, percussion
  • Paul Robinson – drums
  • Candy Dulfer- alto saxophone
  • Steve Gregory- flute, baritone saxophone
  • Haji Ahkba – flugelhorn
  • Kate St John- cor Anglais
  • Carol Kenyon- backing vocals
  • Katie Kissoon- backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison, except where noted.

  1. Professional Jealousy
  2. I’m Not Feeling It Anymore
  3. Ordinary Life
  4. Some Peace of Mind
  5. So Complicated
  6. I Can’t Stop Loving You
  7. Why Must I Always Explain?
  8. Village Idiot
  9. See Me Through, Pt. 2 – traditional
  10. Take Me Back
  11. By His Grace
  12. All Saints Day
  13. Hymns to the Silence
  14. On Hyndford Street
  15. Be Thou My Vision – traditional
  16. Carrying a Torch
  17. Green Mansions
  18. Pagan Streams
  19. Quality Street
  20. It Must Be You
  21. I Need Your Kind of Loving

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.