On August 30, 1982.


On August 30, 1982, “ZE Records” released “Music for a New Society”., the eight John Cale solo album. It was recorded mostly live at “Sky Line Studios” in New York City, and was produced by John Cale.


  • John Cale – vocals, guitars, keyboards
  • Risé Cale – vocal
  • Allen Lanier – guitar
  • David J. Young – guitar, engineer assistant
  • Chris Spedding – acoustic guitar
  • David Lichtenstein – drums, engineer
  • John Wonderling – autoharp
  • Robert Elk – bagpipes
  • Pipe Major Tom Fitzgibbon – bagpipes
  • Mike McLintock – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by John Cale, except where noted.

  1. Taking Your Life in Your Hands
  2. Thoughtless Kind
  3. Sanctus
  4. If You Were Still Around – John Cale, Sam Shepard
  5. (I keep a) Close Watch
  6. Mama’s Song
  7. Broken Bird
  8. Chinese Envoy
  9. Changes Made
  10. Damn Life – John Cale, Rise Cale
  11. Rise, Sam and Rimsky-Korsakov – John Cale, Sam Shepard

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.