On August 30, 1965.


On August 30, 1965, “Columbia” label released “Highway 61 Revisited”, the sixth Bob Dylan studio album . It was recorded June -August 1965, at “Columbia Studio A” in New York,  and was produced by Bob Johnston. The album features some of the best known Dylan songs, including “Like a Rolling Stone”, “Ballad of a thin man” and “Highway 61 revisited”. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Highway 61 Revisited” at number four on its list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The song “Like a Rolling Stone” is listed number one on “Rolling Stone‍ ’s list of the “500 Greatest Songs of All Time” list, “Desolation Row” and “Highway 61 Revisited”, were listed at number 187 and number 373 on the same list.


  • Bob Dylan— vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano, police car
  • Mike Bloomfield— electric guitar
  • Charlie McCoy— guitar
  • Paul Griffin, Al Kooper— piano, organ
  • Frank Owens — piano
  • Harvey Brooks, Russ Savakus— bass guitar
  • Bobby Gregg, Sam Lay— drums

Track listing

All compositions by Bob Dylan

  1. Like a Rolling Stone
  2. Tombstone Blues
  3. It Takes a Lot to Laugh, it Takes a Train to Cry
  4. From a Buick 6
  5. Ballad of a Thin Man
  6. Queen Jane Approximately
  7. Highway 61 Revisited
  8. Just like Tom Thumb’s Blues
  9. Desolation Row



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.