On August 30, 1966.


On August 30, 1966, “Elektra” released “East West”, the second Butterfield Blues Band studio album. It was recorded in 1966, at the “Chess Studios” in Chicago, and was produced by Mark Abramson and Paul Rothchild.


  • Paul Butterfield— vocals, harmonica
  • Mike Bloomfield— electric guitar
  • Elvin Bishop— lead vocals, electric guitar
  • Mark Naftalin— piano, organ
  • Jerome Arnold— bass
  • Billy Davenport— drums

Track listing:

  1. Walking Blues – Robert Johnson
  2. Get Out of my Life Woman – Allen Toussaint
  3. I Got a Mind to Give up Living – traditional
  4. All These Blues – traditional
  5. Work Song – Nat Adderley
  6. Mary, Mary – Michael Nesmith
  7. Two Trains Running – Muddy Waters
  8. Never Say No – traditional
  9. East – West – Mike Bloomfield, Nick Graventies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.