On August 28, 1973.


On August 28, 1973, “Tamla” label released “Let’s Get It On”, the thirteenth Marvin Gaye studio album. It was recorded  June 1970 – July 1973, at the“Golden World Studio” in Detroit and at the “Hitsville West” in Los  Angeles, and was produced by Marvin Gaye and Ed Townsend. The album received positive critics worldwide and is regarded as one of the most influential and most significant soul and funk albums of all time.


  • Marvin Gaye – lead and backing vocals, piano
  • David T. Walker, Eddie Willis, Lewis Shelton, Melvin Ragin, Robert White, Don Peake – guitar
  • Joe Sample, Marvin Jerkins – piano
  • James Jamerson, Wilton Felder – bass
  • Bobbye Hall Porter – bongos
  • Eddie “Bongo” Brown – drums, bongos
  • Paul Humphrey, Uriel Jones – drums
  • Emil Richards, Bobbye Hall Porter, Ernie Watts, Plas Johnson – percussion
  • Emil Richards, Victor Feldman – vibraphone
  • David Van DePitte , Gene Page, Rene Hall – arrangements, orchestra conducting
  • The Originals – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Let’s  Get it On – Marvin Gaye, Ed Townsend
  2. Please Stay – Marvin Gaye, Ed Townsend
  3. If I Should Die Tonight – Marvin Gaye, Ed Townsend
  4. Keep Getting’ it On – Marvin Gaye, Ed Townsend
  5. Come Get to This – Marvin Gaye
  6. Distant Lover – Marvin Gaye, Gwen Gordy, Sandra Green
  7. You Sure Love to Ball – Marvin Gaye
  8. Just to Keep You Satisfied – Marvin Gaye, Anna Gordy Gaye, Elgie Stover

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.