On August 26, 1976.


On August 26, 1976, “Charisma” label released “Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music”, the sixth Hawkwind studio album. It was recorded February–March 1976 at the “Roundhouse Studios”, and was produced by Robert Calvert, Dave Brock, Alan Powell, Nik Turner, Paul Rudolph, Simon House and Simon King.. The album title makes references to SF magazine “Astounding and Amazing Stories” and the cover is a parody of the covers of  old SF magazines.


  • Robert Calvert– vocals
  • Dave Brock– electric guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Nik Turner– vocals, saxophone, flute
  • Paul Rudolph– bass guitar, electric guitar
  • Simon House– violin, keyboards, sitar
  • Simon King– drums
  • Alan Powell– drums

Track listing:

  1. Reefer Madness – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  2. Steppenwolf – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  3. City of Lagoons – Alan Powell
  4. The Aubergine That ate Rangoon – Paul Rudolph
  5. Kerb Crawler – Robert Calver, Dave Brock
  6. Kadu Flyer – Nik Turner, Simon House
  7. Chronoglide Skyway – Simon House

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.