On August 27, 1976.


On August 27, 1976, “Bronze” label released “The Roaring Silence”, the seventh Manfred Mann’s Earth Band album. It was recorded in 1976, at “Workhouse Studios” in London, and was produced by Manfred Mann, Colin Pattenden, Dave Flett, Chris Hamlet Thompson and Chris Slade.


  • Manfred Mann– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Dave Flett– lead guitar
  • Chris Hamlet Thompson– lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Colin Pattenden– bass
  • Chris Slade– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Barbara Thompson– saxophone
  • Doreen Chanter– backing vocals
  • Irene Chanter– backing vocals
  • Susanne Lynch – backing vocals
  • Mick Rogers– backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Blinded by the Light – Bruce Springsteen
  2. Singing the Dolphin Through – Mike Heron
  3. Waiter, There’s a Yawn in My Ear – Manfred Mann
  4. The Road to Babylon – Manfred Mann, Thomas, Colin Pattenden
  5. This Side of Paradise – Manfred Mann, Thomas, Colin Pattenden
  6. Starbird – Manfred Mann, Chris Slade
  7. Questions – Manfred Mann, Chris Slade

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.