Velvet Underground: & Nico

Velvet Underground & Nico

On March 12, 1967, “Verve” label released “Velvet Underground & Nico”, the debut Velvet Underground album. It was recorded in 1966 during Andy Warhol’s “Exploding Plastic Inevitable Multimedia”  event tour, and was produced by Andy Warhol and Tom Wilson. Thanks to inventing  experimental performances sensibility in the music and controversial subjects in the songs lyrics including drug abuse, prostitution, sadism, masochism  and  sexual deviancy, the album gained status of one of the most influential and critically acclaimed albums in history in the modern music. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it at number 13 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time.


  • Lou Reed– lead and backing vocals, lead and ostrich guitar
  • Sterling Morrison– rhythm and lead guitar, bass guitar, backing vocals
  • John Cale– electric viola, piano, bass guitar, celesta, hissing, sound effects, backing vocals
  • Maureen Tucker– percussion , drums, tambourine, bass drum
  • Nico – chanteuse, backing vocals

Track listing

All tracks by Lou Reed, except where noted.

  1. Sunday Morning – Lou Reed, John Cale
  2. I’m Waiting for the Man
  3. Femme Fatale
  4. Venus in Furs
  5. Run Run Run
  6. All Tomorrow’s Parties
  7. Heroin
  8. There She Goes Again
  9. I’ll be Your Mirror
  10. The Black Angel’s Death Song
  11. European Son

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.