Tag Archives: Matthew Simms

Wire: Mind Hive

On January 24, 2020, “Pinkflag” label released “Mind Hive”, the seventeenth Wire studio album. It was recorded 2018 – 2019, at “Rockfield Studios” in Rockfield, Wales, “Swim Studios” in London, and was produced by Colin Newman.


  • Colin Newman – lead vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, 12-string acoustic guitar, tenor guitar, keyboards, stylophone, mixing
  • Matthew Simms – guitar, synths, organ, effects, additional engineering
  • Graham Lewis – lead and backing vocals, bass guitar, synthesizer, effects
  • Robert Grey – drums, cymbals
  • Sean Douglas – organ, engineer
  • Harald Pettersson – hurdy gurdy
  • Denis Blackham – mastering
  • Jon Wozencroft – art direction, photography

Track listing:

  1. Be Like Them
  2. Cactused
  3. Primed and Ready
  4. Off the Beach
  5. Unrepentant
  6. Shadows
  7. Oklahoma
  8. Hung
  9. Humming

On March 31, 2017.

On March 31, 2017, “Pinkflag” label released “Silver/Lead”, the sixteenth Wire studio album. It was recorded in 2016, at “Rockfield Studios” in Rockfield, Monmouthshire, Wales, “Swim Studio” in London, and was produced by Colin Newman.


  • Colin Newman– lead vocals,  keyboards, acoustic, 12-string and electric guitar, mandola, M-Tron baritone, mixing
  • Graham Lewis– lead and backing vocals, bass guitar, Casio SK-1, loops, samples, cover image
  • Robert Grey– drums
  • Matthew Simms – electric guitar, lap steel, mandola, modular synth, Korg MS-10, fx, autoharp
  • Tim Lewis– engineering
  • Jeroen Melchers – engineering
  • Denis Blackham– mastering
  • Jon Wozencroft– art direction

Track listing:

All lyrics by Graham Lewis, all music by Colin Newman, Graham Lewis, Robert Grey and Matthew Simms.

  1. Playing Harp for the Fishes
  2. Short Elevated Period
  3. Diamonds in Cups
  4. Forever & a Day
  5. An Alibi
  6. Sonic Lens
  7. This Time
  8. Brio
  9. Sleep on the Wing
  10. Silver / Lead