Tag Archives: Elizabeth Cotten

On October 1, 1963.

On October 1, 1963, “Warner Bros” label released “In the Wind”, the third Peter, Paul and Mary album. It was recorded in 1963, and was produced by Albert Grossman and
Milt Okun. At the “Grammy Awards” of 1964, Peter, Paul and Mary cover of “Blowin’ in the Wind” won the “Best Folk Recording” and “Best Performance by a Vocal Group”.


  • Peter Yarrow– vocals, guitar
  • Noel “Paul” Stookey– vocals, guitar
  • Mary Travers– vocals
  • Edgar O. DeHaas – bass
  • Bill Schwartau – recording engineer
  • Barry Feinstein- cover photography
  • Bob Dylan- liner notes

Track listing:

  1. Very Last Day – Peter Yarrow, Noel Stookey
  2. Hush-A-Bye – traditional; arranged by Peter Yarrow, Noel Stookey
  3. Long Chain On – Jimmy Driftwood
  4. Rocky Road – Peter Yarrow, Noel Stookey
  5. Tell It on the Mountain – arranged by Mary Travers, Peter Yarrow, Milt Okun, Noel Stookey
  6. Polly Von” a.k.a. Polly Vaughn and Molly BawnMary Travers, Peter Yarrow, Noel Stookey
  7. Stewball – Mary Travers, Milton Okun, Noel Stookey, Elena Mezzetti
  8. All My Trials – traditional; arranged by Peter Yarrow, Paul Stookey, Mary Travers
  9. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right – Bob Dylan
  10. Freight Train – Elizabeth Cotten
  11. Quit Your Low Down Ways – Bob Dylan
  12. Blowin’ in the Wind – Bob Dylan

In December 1966.


In December 1966, “Capitol” label released the self-titled, second Fred Neil album. It was recorded in 1966, and was produced by Nick Venet.


  • Fred Neil– vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, finger snapping, linear notes
  • Pete Childs – acoustic and electric guitar
  • John T. Forsha – acoustic and 12-string guitar
  • Cyrus Faryar– acoustic guitar, bouzouki
  • Rusty Faryar – finger cymbals
  • Jimmy Bond – bass
  • Billy Mundi– drums, cymbals, tambourine
  • Alan Wilson– harmonica
  • Nick Venet– sound effects
  • Norma Sharp – production coordinator
  • Peter Abbott, John Kraus – engineer
  • Nick Venet – art direction
  • Jim Marshall, Edward Simpson – photography
  • Jerry Hopkins, Bob Mehr – linear notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Fred Neil, except where noted

  1. The Dolphins
  2. I’ve Got a Secret (Didn’t We Shake Sugaree) – Elizabeth Cotten
  3. That’s the Bag I’m In
  4. Badi-Da
  5. Faretheewell (Fred’s Tune)
  6. Everybody’s Talkin’
  7. Everything Happens
  8. Sweet Cocaine
  9. Green Rocky Road
  10. Cynicrustpetefredjohn Raga