Spanky and Our Gang: Like To Get To Know You

In April 1968, “Mercury” label released “Like to Get to Know You”, the second Spanky and Our Gang studio album. It was recorded in 1967, at “Western Recorders” in Hollywood, “Universal Recording Studio” in Chicago, “Impact Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Bob Dorough and Stuart Scharf.


  • Spanky McFarlane – vocals
  • Malcolm Hale – vocals, lead guitar, trombone
  • Lefty Baker – vocals, lead guitar, banjo
  • Nigel Pickering – vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Kenny Hodges – vocals, bass
  • John Seiter – vocals, drums
  • Mike Deasy – guitar
  • Walter Raim – 12-string guitar
  • Red Rhodes – steel guitar
  • Artie Schroeck – organ, piano
  • Chet Amsterdam, Larry Knechtel, Richard Davis – bass
  • Bill LaVorgna, Donald MacDonald, Hal Blaine – drums
  • Lee Katzman – trumpet

Track listing:

  1. The Swingin’ Gate – John Ferrell, Geoffrey Meyers
  2. Prescription for the Blues – Little Brother Montgomery, Bruce Saunders
  3. Three Ways from Tomorrow – Lefty Baker
  4. My Bill – Bob Dorough, Daniel Greenburg, Monte Ghertler
  5. Sunday Mornin’ – Margo Guryan
  6. Echoes (Everybody’s Talkin’) – Fred Neil
  7. Suzanne – Leonard Cohen
  8. Stuperflabbergasted – Bruce Summers, Carlos Bernal
  9. Like to Get to Know You – Stuart Scharf
  10. Chick-a-Ding-Ding – Stuart Scharf
  11. Stardust – Hoagy Carmichael, Mitchell Parish
  12. Coda (Like to Get to Know You) – Stuart Scharf

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.