Horace Silver: Finger Poppin’ with the Horace Silver Quintet

In April 1959, “Blue Note” label released “Finger Poppin’ with the Horace Silver Quintet”, the eight Horace Silver album. It was recorded in January 1959, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Horace Silver – piano
  • Junior Cook – tenor saxophone
  • Blue Mitchell – trumpet
  • Gene Taylor – bass
  • Louis Hayes – drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder – engineer
  • Reid Miles – design
  • Francis Wolff – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Horace Silver.

  1. Finger Poppin’
  2. Juicy Lucy
  3. Swingin’ the Samba
  4. Sweet Stuff
  5. Cookin’ at the Continental
  6. Come on Home
  7. You Happened My Way
  8. Mellow D

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.