Shangri-Las: Leader of the Pack

In February 1965, “Red Bird” label released “Leader of the Pack”, the debut Shangri-Las (The) album. It was recorded in 1964, and was produced by George “Shadow” Morton.


  • Mary Weiss – lead and backing vocals
  • Betty Weiss – lead and backing vocals
  • Marge Ganser – backing vocals
  • Mary Ann Ganser – backing vocals
  • Brooks Arthur – engineer
  • Rod McBrien – engineer
  • Loring Eutemey – artwork
  • Hugh Bell – photography

Track listing:

  1. Give Him a Great Big Kiss – George Morton
  2. Leader of the Pack – George Morton, Jeff Barry, Ellie Greenwich
  3. Bull Dog – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  4. It’s Easier to Cry – J. J. Jackson, Joe De Angelis, Robert Steinberg
  5. What Is Love – George Morton, Tony Michaels
  6. Remember (Walking in the Sand) – George Morton
  7. Twist and Shout – Phil Medley, Bert Russell
  8. Maybe – Arlene Smith, George Goldner
  9. So Much in Love – Billy Jackson, Roy Straigis
  10. Shout – Rudolph Isley, Ronald Isley, O’Kelly Isley Jr.
  11. Good Night, My Love, Pleasant Dreams – George Motola, John Marascalco
  12. You Can’t Sit Down – Cornell Muldrow, Dee Clark

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.