Johnny Griffin: Introducing Johnny Griffin

In February 1957, “Blue Note” label released “Introducing Johnny Griffin”, the debut Johnny Griffin album. It was recorded in April 1957, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Johnny Griffin – tenor sax
  • Wynton Kelly – piano
  • Curly Russell – bass
  • Max Roach – drums

Track listing:

  1. Mil Dew – Johnny Griffin
  2. Chicago Calling – Johnny Griffin
  3. These Foolish Things – Harry Link, Holt Marvell, John Strachey
  4. The Boy Next Door – Hugh Martin, Ralph Blane
  5. Nice and Easy – Johnny Griffin
  6. It’s All Right with Me – Cole Porter
  7. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, Jimmy Sherman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.