Built To Spill: Keep It Like A Secret

On February 2, 1999, “Warner Bros” label released “Keep It Like a Secret”, the fourth Built to Spill studio album. It was recorded November 1997 – May 1998, at “Bear Creek Studios” in Woodinville, Washington, “Avast! Recording Co.” in Seattle, Washington, and was produced by Doug Martsch and Phil Ek.


  • Doug Martsch – lead vocals, guitar
  • Brett Nelson – bass
  • Scott Plouf – drums
  • Sam Coomes – keyboards
  • Jim Roth – guitar
  • Phil Ek – engineer
  • Zack Reinig – engineer assistant
  • Scott Norton, Juan Garcia – mixing assistant
  • Steve Fallone – mastering
  • Tae Won Yu – design, art direction
  • Jeff Smith – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Doug Martsch, Brett Nelson and Scott Plouf, except where noted.

  1. The Plan
  2. Center of the Universe
  3. Carry the Zero
  4. Sidewalk
  5. Bad Light
  6. Time Trap
  7. Else
  8. You Were Right
  9. Temporarily Blind
  10. Broken Chairs – lyrics by Uhuru Black

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.