Paul Kantner: Blows Against the Empire

In November 1970, “RCA Victor” label released “Blows Against the Empire”, the debut Paul Kantner album. It was released under the name Paul Kantner and Jefferson Starship, and was the first album to use the “Starship” moniker. It was recorded in 1970, at “Pacific High” and “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Paul Kantner,


  • Paul Kantner – vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, banjo, bass machine, design
  • Grace Slick – vocals, piano
  • Jerry Garcia – vocals, banjo, lead guitar, pedal steel guitar, sound effects
  • David Crosby – lead and backing vocals, guitar, engineer
  • Peter Kaukonen – lead guitar
  • Jack Casady – bass
  • Harvey Brooks – bass
  • Joey Covington – vocals, drums, congas
  • Bill Kreutzmann – drums
  • Graham Nash – congas, sound effects, backing vocals, engineer
  • Mickey Hart – vocals, percussion, sound effects
  • David Freiberg – backing vocals
  • Phill Sawyer – sound effects
  • Allen Zentz, Pat Leraci, Phill Sawyer, Bob Shoemaker – engineer
  • CCCP – cover
  • Patti Landres – books
  • Jim Goldberg – space, design
  • Tony Nagamuma – title

Track listing:

  1. Mau Mau (Amerikon) – Paul Kantner, Grace Slick, Joey Covington
  2. The Baby Tree – Rosalie Sorrels
  3. Let’s Go Together – Paul Kantner
  4. A Child Is Coming – Paul Kantner, Grace Slick, David Crosby
  5. Sunrise – Grace Slick
  6. Hijack – Paul Kantner, Grace Slick, Marty Balin, Gary Blackman
  7. Home – Paul Kantner, Phil Sawyer, Graham Nash
  8. Have You Seen the Stars Tonight? – Paul Kantner, David Crosby
  9. XM – Paul Kantner, Phil Sawyer, Jerry Garcia, Mickey Hart
  10. Starship – Paul Kantner, Grace Slick. Marty Balin, Gary Blackman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.