In September 1965.

In September 1965, “Prestige” label released “Soul People”, the 50th Sonny Stitt album. It was recorded in 1964, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Ozzie Cadena, Bob Porter and Cal Lampley.


  • Sonny Stitt – alto saxophone and tenor saxophone
  • Booker Ervin – tenor saxophone
  • Grant Green – guitar
  • Vinnie Corrao – guitar
  • Don Patterson – organ
  • Billy James – drums

Track listing:

  1. Soul People – Sonny Stitt
  2. Sonny’s Book – Sonny Stitt
  3. “C” Jam Blues – Duke Ellington
  4. Medley: I Can’t Get Started / The Masquerade Is Over – Vernon Duke, Ira Gershwin / Herb Magidson, Allie Wrubel

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.