In September 1964.

In September 1964, “MGM” label released the self-titled, debut Animals (The) album. It was recorded January – July 1964, and was produced by Mickie Most.


  • Eric Burdon – vocals
  • Hilton Valentine – guitar, backing vocals
  • Alan Price – organ, vibraphone, guitar, bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Chas Chandler – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • John Steel – drums
  • Val Valentin – engineer

Track listing:

  1. The House of the Rising Sun – traditional, arranged by Alan Price
  2. The Girl Can’t Help It – Bobby Troup
  3. Blue Feeling – Jimmy Henshaw
  4. Baby Let Me Take You Home – Wes Farrell, Bert Russell
  5. The Right Time – Lew Herman
  6. Talkin’ Bout You – Ray Charles
  7. Around and Around – Chuck Berry
  8. I’m in Love Again – Dave Bartholomew, Fats Domino
  9. Gonna Send You Back to Walker – Johnnie Mae Matthews
  10. Memphis, Tennessee – Chuck Berry
  11. I’m Mad Again – John Lee Hooker
  12. I’ve Been Around – Fats Domino

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.