In July 1964.

In July 1964, “Impulse!” label released “Salt and Pepper”, an album by Sonny Stitt and Paul Gonsalves (the 46th Sonny Stitt album overall). It was recorded in September 1963, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • Paul Gonsalves – tenor saxophone
  • Sonny Stitt – alto and tenor saxophone
  • Hank Jones – piano
  • Milt Hinton – bass
  • Osie Johnson – drums

Track listing:

  1. Salt and Pepper – Sonny Stitt, Paul Gonsalves
  2. S’posin’ – Paul Denniker, Andy Razaf
  3. Theme from Lord of the Flies – Raymond Leppard
  4. Perdido – Juan Tizol, Ervin Drake, Hans Lengsfelder
  5. Stardust – Hoagy Carmichael, Mitchell Parish

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.