Yusef Lateef: Before Dawn: The Music of Yusef Lateef

In February 1958, “Verve” label released “Before Dawn: The Music of Yusef Lateef”, the fourth Yusef Lateef album. It was recorded in April 1957, at “WOR Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Norman Granz.


  • Yusef Lateef – tenor saxophone, flute, arghul, percussion
  • Curtis Fuller – trombone
  • Hugh Lawson – piano, celesta
  • Ernie Farrow – bass, rebab
  • Louis Hayes – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Yusef Lateef except where noted.

  1. Passion
  2. Love Is Eternal
  3. Pike’s Peak
  4. Open Strings
  5. Before Dawn
  6. Twenty-Five Minute Blues
  7. Chang, Chang, Chang
  8. Constellation – Charlie Parker

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.