Phineas Newborn Jr.: Phineas Rainbow

In February 1957, “RCA Victor” label released “Phineas’ Rainbow”, the second Phineas Newborn Jr. studio album. It was recorded in October 1956 in New York City.


  • Phineas Newborn Jr. – piano
  • Calvin Newborn – guitar
  • George Joyner – bass
  • Philly Joe Jones – drums
  • Bill Coss – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Phineas Newborn Jr. except where noted.

  1. Overtime
  2. Angel Eyes – Earl Brent, Matt Dennis
  3. Come to Baby, Do! – Inez James, Sidney Miller
  4. Stairway to the Stars – Matty Malneck, Mitchell Parish, Frank Signorelli
  5. Land’s End – Harold Land
  6. Clarisse
  7. She (She Means Everything to Me) – George Shearing
  8. Tin Tin Deo – Gil Fuller, Dizzy Gillespie, Chano Pozo
  9. Autumn in New York – Vernon Duke
  10. What Is This Thing Called Love? – Cole Porter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.