Algiers: There Is No Year

On January 17, 2020, “Matador” label released “There Is No Year”, the third Algiers studio album. It was recorded April – May 2019, at “Figure 8”, “Strange Weather”, “Studio E” in New York, and was produced by Randall Dunn and Ben Greenberg.


  • Franklin James Fisher
  • Ryan Mahan
  • Lee Tesche
  • Matt Tong

vocals, guitar, bass, piano, synthesizers, drums, percussion, sheet metal, prepared instruments, eight – stringed oddities, programming

  • Skerik – saxophone
  • LaToya Kent – backing vocals
  • Kyle Kidd – backing vocals
  • Lou the Dog – backing vocals
  • Randall Dunn – Korg MS-20, Modal 001, Ensoniq ESQ-1, modular synth, percussion, mixing, additional programming, sound design
  • Ben Greenberg – MPC 2000, additional programming
  • Garrett DeBlock – mixing assistant
  • Jason Ward – mastering
  • Farbod Kokabi – art direction, design

Track listing:

  1. There Is No Year
  2. Dispossession
  3. Hour of the Furnaces
  4. Losing is Ours
  5. Unoccupied
  6. Chaka
  7. Wait for the Sound
  8. Repeating Night
  9. We Can’t Be Found

One thought on “Algiers: There Is No Year”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.