Malo: Same

In January 1972, “Warner Bros” label released the self-titled, debut Malo album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Pacific Recording Studios” in San Mateo, California, and was produced by David Rubinson.


  • Arcelio García, Jr. – lead vocals, percussion
  • Jorge Santana – guitar
  • Abel Zarate – vocals, guitar
  • Richard Kermode – keyboards, electric piano, Hammond organ, piano
  • Pablo Tellez – bass guitar, percussion
  • Richard Spremich – drums, percussion
  • Coke Escovedo – timbales, percussion
  • Victor Pantoja – conga, bongos, percussion
  • Richard Bean – vocals, percussion, timbales
  • Luis Gasca – vocals, trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Roy Murray – flute, trombone, trumpet, soprano sax
  • David Rubinson – engineer, mixing
  • Fred Catero, Jeremy Zatkin – assistant engineer
  • Chris Whorf – art direction
  • John & Barbara Casado – design
  • Jesus Helguera – front cover
  • Victor Alemán – photography

Track listing:

  1. Pana – Arcelio García, Jr., Abel Zarate
  2. Just Say Goodbye – Rodgers Grant, Luis Gasca
  3. Café – Arcelio García, Jorge Santana, Jr., Pablo Tellez
  4. Nena – Arcelio García, Jr., Pablo Tellez, Abel Zarate
  5. Suavecito – Richard Bean, Pablo Tellez, Abel Zarate
  6. Peace – Arcelio Garcia, Jr., Pablo Tellez, Ismael Versoza, Abel Zarate

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.